02
Apr
10

Canon 550D Rig Photos

After many months of research, I finally talked myself into Canon’s newest DSLR, the 550D (Rebel T2i). In addition to the camera itself I’ve been getting in a fair amount of accessories including my latest: The Gini Rig (DSL-17). I finally had some time today to add hand grips and played around with a configuration I think will work for me.

The Gini is an outstanding value for an all aluminum DSLR rig. At the moment, the creator is working on a new website to offer much better information on the products he sells but ebay is where you can find the best deals right now. I haven’t personally seen or held a Zacuto product with my own eyes but I’d like to think Gini products are pretty comparable quality wise.

The grips I chose were a pair of ODI Ruffian Mountain bike Lock-On grips. I’ve had a pair of these on my mountain bike for several years now and have loved them. If my local Bike Line had them in stock, I may have done a pair with anodized red locks to match the rest of the rig but black works just fine. I used some gaffer’s tape  to enlarge the 15mm rods to accommodate the grips. It took a little trial and error getting the size right but there is zero slipping now, they really worked out great.

A few of the photos show off the rod extensions and lense support which I don’t currently need with the lense in the photo.  Eventually I’d like to purchase a Canon EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS II USM but it’s ever so slightly out of my price range right now.

This weekend looks to be a perfect opportunity to get out and finally start shooting. So enough blogging for now.

Ciao



April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930